Citizenship Awards and Ceremonies

It’s a proud day when an individual or family first make the Australian Citizenship Pledge at a citizenship ceremony. Often, it’s the final step in a journey that has taken years to complete. 

Citizenship ceremonies are special events and celebrated as such in Weipa. Not only do they fulfill important requirements under Australian law, but they also give us an opportunity to welcome new citizens to the Australian community.

Local residents whose applications have been approved will be invited to attend a citizenship ceremony. This can be an emotional experience for new citizens, as well as their host and guests.

An Australian citizenship affirmation ceremony may also follow a Citizenship ceremony, giving everyone present a chance to affirm their loyalty to Australia in a similar way to new citizens.

To find out more about becoming an Australian citizen, visit the Citizenship website

Australia Day celebrations and awards

The Australia Day Awards is the perfect way to recognise the achievements and contributions of individuals and groups in our local area. Nominating someone is an opportunity to publicly acknowledge an individual. group or event who have made and extraordinary contribution or are an outstanding achiever. Nominations are called mid November each year, so if you know an individual, group or event that deserves recognition, don’t forget to nominate them. 


The Citizen of the Year Award recognises those aged 19 years and above who have made a significant contribution to their community in any of the following areas:

- Social and Wellbeing

- Sports and Recreation

- Culture and Arts


The Young Citizen of the Year Award recognises those aged 18 years and under who have made a significant contribution to their community in any of the following areas:

- Social and Wellbeing

- Sports and Recreation

- Culture and Arts


The Community Spirirt Award recognises the extraordinary contribution of volunteers, our local heroes, who work tirelessly in our community. This award recognises either individual volunteers or local organisations whose selfless efforts have helped to improve the lives of others and/or those who have helped to build community spirirt. resilience, and identity in our local area.



Judging Process

Those nominees that meet the eligibility criteria will be passed onto a judging panel to determine the finalists and winners in each category. The judges’ decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into. The judges reserve the right to not allocate an award in any of the award categories if, in their opinions, the nominations are of insufficient merit.


Awards Ceremony

Finalist and their nominators in each category will be notifies at least 2 weeks prior to the awards ceremony. Finalists will be invited along to the official awards ceremony where winners will be announced. A winners list will also be publicly released after the ceremony.


Eligibility Criteria

Weipa Town Authority will confirm nominations across all award categories based on eligibility of each nominee. If no eligible nominations are received, Weipa Tonw Authority reserves the right to remove any award category as required. All nominees must satisfy the below criteria:

  • Nominees must be Australian citizens
  • Nominees must be a resident of Weipa at the time of nomination.
  • The nomination must address eligibility, category and judging criteria relating to the nominee in order to be a valid nomination. Weipa Town Authority reserves the right to decline nominations if they do not meet the criteria for the specific category being applied for if nominations are incomplete or if information is incorrect.
  • You may be contacted after submitting a nomination and asked to provide further details including photographs, videos, newspaper clippings or reference letters
  • Nominees are able to be nominated for more than one category.


Australia Day Award Winners

Please find a list of our Australia Day Award receipients below



Citizen of the Year Reuben Slingo
Young Citizen of the Year Hunter Slingo
Community Spirit Award Scott Kootoofa
Community Spirirt Award Naty Linnehan