Meet the Members Meet the Members

The Weipa Town Authority is made up of seven Members. Of these, four Members are elected by Weipa residents on the QLD electoral role, two are appointed by Rio Tinto, and one Member is appointed by the Alngith Traditional Owners.

The role of Weipa Town Authority (WTA) Members, including the Chairperson, can be demanding, but also highly rewarding. Click here for more detailed information for prospective candidates.

Elected Members

Michael Rowland – Chair
Stretch Noonan - Deputy Chair
Duane Singleton - Elected Member
Chris Newman - Elected Member

Appointed Representatives

Fiona Kruger - RT Representative
Gerald Foo - RT Representative
Jackie Madua - Traditional Owner Representative

Our Members Our Members

Stretch Noonan

Stretch has travelled far and wide within Australia, living and working in many different communities, towns and cities. He first lived in Weipa between 1979-81, and has now returned for a third time with his partner, Giembra. “We want to call this home forever”, he says.

Stretch began work in the beef cattle industry as a stockman, before progressing to head stockman. When he first moved to Weipa in 1979, he became involved in the construction industry, and ultimately started his own construction business, employing up to 75 carpenters. 

For four years, he managed the local newspaper, The Western Cape Bulletin, where Giembra was the Editor. Now they manage The Anchorage accommodation together. In these positions they see many of the issues that concern the local community, and regularly meet and talk to community members. 

Stretch is passionate about the future of Weipa, and its ability to prosper beyond the eventual closure of the mine. He recognises that the sustainability of the town and future shire must be addressed now so that Weipa is not solely reliant on RTA.

Phone: 0439 996 930