Meet the Members Meet the Members

The Weipa Town Authority is made up of seven Members. Of these, four Members are elected by Weipa residents on the QLD electoral role, two are appointed by Rio Tinto, and one Member is appointed by the Alngith Traditional Owners.

The role of Weipa Town Authority (WTA) Members, including the Chairperson, can be demanding, but also highly rewarding. Click here for more detailed information for prospective candidates.

Elected Members

Michael Rowland – Chair
Stretch Noonan - Deputy Chair
Duane Singleton - Elected Member
Chris Newman - Elected Member

Appointed Representatives

Fiona Kruger - RT Representative
Gerald Foo - RT Representative
Jackie Madua - Traditional Owner Representative

Our Members Our Members

« Back

Gerald Foo

Gerald Foo joined the Weipa Town Authority in 2017 as one of the two Rio Tinto Weipa Appointed Representatives. Gerald is the Integrated Operations Manager and is responsible for the Mine Planning/Laboratory, Marine/Shipping, Bauxite Operations Centre, IS&T, Electrical Generation/Distribution and Electrical and Control Systems Engineering.

Prior to moving to Weipa, Gerald worked in Rio Tinto Iron Ore where he worked at Brockman, Robe Valley Mines and Dampier, Cape Lambert Ports in various operational and maintenance roles.

Gerald lives in Weipa with his wife Nichole and their two children and enjoys spending time fishing, camping and exploring Cape York.