Meet the Members Meet the Members

The Weipa Town Authority is made up of seven Members. Of these, four Members are elected by Weipa residents on the QLD electoral role, two are appointed by Rio Tinto, and one Member is appointed by the Alngith Traditional Owners.

The role of Weipa Town Authority (WTA) Members, including the Chairperson, can be demanding, but also highly rewarding. Click here for more detailed information for prospective candidates.

Elected Members

Michael Rowland – Chair
Stretch Noonan - Deputy Chair
Duane Singleton - Elected Member
Chris Newman - Elected Member

Appointed Representatives

Ben Myall- RT Representative
Gerald Foo - RT Representative
Jackie Madua - Traditional Owner Representative

Our Members Our Members

Ben Myall

Ben Myall joined the Weipa Town   Authority in 2017 as one of the two Rio Tinto Weipa Appointed Representatives. 
Ben is the Operations Manager for  Andoom and is responsible for the mine, plant, rail and heavy equipment workshop.  

Prior to moving to Weipa, Ben worked for Glencore Coal at Clermont Open Cut in Central Queensland. 

Ben moved to Weipa with his wife Erin and their two children, attracted both by the role at Rio Tinto, a different commodity (after 18 years in coal) and the lifestyle offered in the Western Cape.

When he is not working, Ben enjoys cycling, fishing and being with his family.

Phone: 0418209828